Sometimes a girl just needs a place to call home

Over the past few days, so much has happened! I’m most excited about moving, which happened today.This will likely be my last move for at least a year, so I’m looking forward to having a little more stability. And what makes it better is that it’s a place with one of my best friends, so I suspect my social life will improve too, lol. I’ve moved a lot over my life and have come to really value security and just one cozy place to call home.

If you’ve lived in one place all your life, you may want nothing more than to explore and see what’s out there. But when you’re like me, and have spent most of your life moving about through what’s out there, you come to crave the feeling of having a home and neighbourhood that you’ve grown into. You actually appreciate going to a local shop often enough for the staff to know your face and name.

I have always envied friends who have school, church and neighborhood friends that they’ve known for their whole life. I’ve never lived anywhere long enough to develop that kind of deep friendship with anyone, and it’s an experience that I hope to have one day, when I finally settle down somewhere permanently. I do love everyone who is in my life, regardless of how long they’ve been there,  and the bright side is that eventually, they will all become people I have known for years.

Sure, I may not have known them from kindergarten or grade school, but I can’t help but think it should be equally satisfying to meet someone in college or at work, and still be friends 30 years later when you’re both career people with teenage children. If anything, that may even have more significance as it’s much harder to maintain friendships as adults than it is when you’re children with fewer things eating away at your time.

Over all, I feel like this is a new chapter of my life. I’ve always struggled with living away from family, not because I don’t want my space, but because I tend to get blindsided by circumstances. But now, things are coming together. Little by little. Having an inviting and comfortable space of my own will give me the peace of mind that I need to accomplish all the other things that have been crowded out by worry and stress.

Like my hobbies. I’m looking forward to getting back into my crocheting, graphic design, photography, music, and I’m thinking about taking up jewelry making and becoming a DJ as well.

(Yes, I’m actually serious about the DJ thing. Unexpected, right? Lol).

Leave a Reply

