Kim’s Pick: Revlon ColorStay™ Brow Pencil Review

 

Ask me which kind of makeup I won’t leave the house without, and it would likely be brow makeup.

My face has a few striking features, but my eyebrows have always been talk city. Back when I was a kid, it was because I just had so damn much of it, and they did me no justice, being fairly thick and box-shaped. 16114590_1844627252482001_8635769913353439284_n

Yeah, like a dude.

I hit early adulthood and I finally decided to do something with them, and they’ve been my favorite feature to highlight ever since (#stayonfleek).  So, generally I stick to two generic eyebrow pencils – black and dark brown. Yes, I mix the two, because dark brown usually isn’t dark enough on its own to get the bold look that’s become my signature. The look on the right is what I achieve with my trusty sharpened pencils. Bold in all the right places.

However, I have sisters …

Someone borrowed my favorite pencils and I haven’t seen them since. So I used my generic dollar store backups (do not judge) until I had time to search out a replacement.

Should have been no biggie. I went to Shoppers Drug Mart to replace my favorite pencil brand and… 7 locations later… I couldn’t find the exact one I wanted. They still sell the item, but I guess everyone uses the Dark Brown shade, because that’s the one that wasn’t on the shelf.

Now, I’m very picky. I don’t like brow crayons. I don’t like brow gel. I don’t like brow powder. I’ve used them all and even though I always manage to slay, it just takes too long and too many tries for me to get out of the house. With my pencil (the one from Revlon that comes with a brow brush on the cap ….dunno what it’s called), I can be done in a matter of 90 seconds.
16730351_1857668997844493_9036334593207146761_nSo, anyway. Couldn’t find it.

Though I enjoyed that all-natural day, I do prefer filling in my brows for a bold look, as my eyebrows have been waxed religiously since I was 19. In the name of femininity. So, now they are less dramatic on their own. See the picture on the right, and ignore the sleeping boyfriend. Bare brows? Cute! But I’m usually not going for cute. I prefer striking. Powerful. Whatever. I like when my makeup matches my general persona.

So, getting annoyed, I decided to give the Revlon ColorStay™ Brow Pencil a try. Now, either I wasn’t paying attention OR there is really no where on the package indicating that this product is actually a creme formula.

I am really not sure why this wasn’t called a brow crayon.

That would have been more fitting. By far.

revlon eyebrow.jpg

My disappointment was intense. I feel like I have better control over the intensity of the color and weight of my brow makeup with a regular Revlon actual pencil. I looked at the stick in my hand and really contemplated simply going bare-browed …But, with the mishap I had with tweezers and being frightened by my roommate …kind had to cover up my butchered brows with something.

The nice thing about this product is that you can get a very clean, defined edge on the first go. My pencil usually required quite a few strokes and a technique. TheColorStay™ pencil just glides right on very easily. What I hate about it is that it smudges pretty easily too, and so you may want to do your brows after you’ve done the rest of your makeup, and go easy on the brow brush as well. I’ve had to wash my face and start over far too many times. 17636867_1879660695645323_7656916370435226788_o

Plus, it is just so …damn …heavy-looking. Doesn’t look terrible, but I very much prefer the lighter feel a pencil gives me. I like bold, but I also like my eyebrows to look more like hair and less like an attack of the magic marker, so I think I may just have to change brands (sorry, Revlon) and find a new pencil crush.

And yes, I know some of you will say, “no! try the gel or crayon first.”

Thanks, but no thanks. When I finish stewing over this upsetting purchase, I will do a review on the Revlon Brow Fantasy pencil and gel combo (…like, 2 stars…). I won’t even touch the REVLON COLORSTAY™ BROW CRAYON with a long stick on this blog, because it’s basically the same thing as the brow “pencil.”

Just a whole lot fatter.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

