Please move, you’re in my space.

I don’t like having people in my bubble. Just because I like you doesn’t mean you have to stand that close to me. Listen, honey, some people can feel a connection without being almost physically connected. My energy can feel yours and everyone else’s in the room. Oh, you need to be close to feel close? Alright, I get that, but I don’t know how to compromise. Letting you invade my space isn’t going to be fair to me, and I guess keeping you at arm’s length isn’t all that fair to you either.

So what do we do. I want to tell you to find another extrovert to talk to, but we’re going to have to interact at some point anyway, so I’d better deal with this now, huh? Well, let me see. Compromise. How to do it?

I guess sometimes I’ll have to “loosen up” as you put it, and let you get a little close. Okay, fine, you can sit next to me without my purse or some other barrier between us. I can do that. But you’ll have to promise that you’ll stop poking me in the side telling me to “perk up” when by now you should know that I can be happy as lark and I still won’t be jumping up and down or screaming.

People like me get invaded all the time. It is assumed that we need interventions, but we just see this as you ganging up on us to try to change who we are. We don’t like it, and it will probably just make us withdraw from  you faster. We don’t understand your need to always be on a cloud any more than you understand our need to stay rooted to the fine earth. We’re always going to be enigmas to each other, but we can co-exist if you respect my journey and I respect yours.

Just expect that I’m probably going to leave the party early, and that I’m not going to leave knowing everyone’s name. Just because I’m sitting quietly doesn’t mean that I’m not having fun, and you don’t need to apologize to everyone about me either. And for heaven’s sake, don’t send someone to keep me company or snuggle up next to me. Do you realize how awkward that makes me feel? I end up thinking you are embarrassed to let me be me.

Please, just stay out of my space. Respect my space. You won’t have to guess–if you’re looking, if you’re listening, you’ll know when you’re up in my face a bit too much. We can get along but just as I try to talk a little more and go out more than I do normally to make you happy, just take it and don’t push it to see how far you can make me go.

Nothing is wrong with me. Remember that.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. lkeke35 says:

    I love this! Thank you from a straight-up, introverted, blerdgirl!

    Like

    1. Kim-Lee Patterson says:

      You’re welcome, girl. We rock!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

