How To Get Over Writer's Block When Your Book is Almost Finished

This happens to authors all the time: they approach the tail end of a writing project and then find themselves lacking the energy and inspiration to actually finish the book.

Here are 2 ways to get over that:

1. Go back to the beginning of the manuscript, and just read.

It may seem surprising, but try going back to the beginning of your book and just read it. Don’t fix anything. Don’t think. Just read. It may spark the motivation back into you to finish the rest.

2. Remind yourself of why you started.

Think about how great you will feel when you hold the finished book in your hand. Feel the covers between your hands. The pages between your fingers. Think about how proud your family and others will be of you. Don’t quit now.

15 Comments Add yours

  1. How about writer’s block after one chapter? Lol I hope one day I’m almost done & fighting writer’s block near the end versus the beginning! Great advice 🙂 Are you nearing the end of writing a book?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Kim-Lee (Your Writing Lady) says:

      Oh I get that all the time. After one chapter I will usually go for a walk, get frozen yogurt (Menchies!) or dance in the living room to old school reggae tunes. You will survive!

      I actually wrote two books when I was 17. I am working on some others now, though I’ve slowed down due to busy life. What are you writing?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 2 books by 17 is very impressive! What were they about?

        I’m working on a modern day adaptation of Jane Austen type books set in a suburban play group of 5 moms & 1 dad. It’s meant to be a light hearted send- up of modern parenting culture. I have to have more discipline in sitting down to write.

        Like

      2. Kim-Lee (Your Writing Lady) says:

        One was a 200 page paperback fiction of my version of the story of Joseph (Biblical) called From Pit To Palace and the other was a 20-odd page ebook called Escaping Reality which outlined my view of what people do what they do.

        A modern day Jane Austen style. I must admit my experience with her books are limited but I have an idea. Sounds very interesting. If you have any excerpts hanging around on the web, I would love to read them.

        Like

      3. Those 2 books sound really interesting! I don’t have anything on the web but I’ve heard wattpad is a good place to post & get feedback so I’ll look into it.

        Like

  2. I’m thinking I’m on ‘the home stretch’ and suddenly feel I don’t know how to finish, or can’t bear to spend another day on the same project. I’m writing a memoir – very different for me – and it’s been challenging both emotionally and technically. Some days I feel as though I’ve been put into a cement mixer or old-fashioned wringer. It’s exhausting. Other times it’s exhilarating and I feel good after completing 4K words in a day’s work. Now, I’m reading the first 5000 words – editing and rewrites to submit to a competition. Hopefully that will give me the giant shove to totally complete, rather than ‘almost wrote’ ! Good topic this one.

    Like

    1. Kim-Lee Patterson says:

      A cement mixer! What a comparison. And makes total sense. Hope the re-reading works out! Do let me know how things are going.

      Like

  3. Going back to the beginning and re-reading is the best thing anyone can do! Even is the is ONLY 1 chapter, re-reading it should remind you WHY you started writing, as well as give you new ideas to add to the story. Although my novel (hopefully out by Nov.) took me years, re-reading was the one thing that got me to finish.

    Like

    1. Kim-Lee Patterson says:

      You’re right! I’ve been stuck many times and found that revisiting the first chapter was the only boost I needed to take me to the very end.

      Oooo, by November? Please let me know when it’s out so I can put it on blast here on the blog!

      Like

  4. Dear moderator, I made some typos in that comment. I am going to rewrite & do exactly what you are saying and I am endorsing. Re-read and make corrections when necessary! Yikes!
    Going back to the beginning and re-reading is the best thing anyone can do! Even if there IS ONLY 1 chapter, re-reading it should remind you WHY you started writing the piece, as well as give you new ideas to add to the story. Although my novel (hopefully out by Nov.) took me years, re-reading was the one thing that got me to finish.
    Thanks for the post!

    Like

  5. Your second recommendation I was doing long before I got much writing done. I imagine myself in El Salvador (where 99% of the book takes place) talking to an audience at UCA (the university that publishes the important books in Central America). I am thanking them for what they taught me & telling them why I HAD to write this book. Visualization is very powerful! In my opinion, it is the only way to get ANYTHING done!

    Like

    1. Kim-Lee Patterson says:

      Totally. Wow, I love the imagery….Central America….university…audiences….*sigh* Now I need a vacation lol.

      Like

  6. You can find your article on my Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/pages/A-Page-A-Day-Lets-all-write-just-one-page-a-day/103970129720405. I added a photo as none was showing up there. 😉 ❤

    Like

    1. Kim-Lee Patterson says:

      OMG! Thank you, I really appreciate that. Going over to check it out, and your page, right now…

      Like

  7. Kim-Lee Patterson says:

    Haha! No worries at all, happens to the best of us. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

