3 reasons why service business shouldn't hide prices.

I’m sure I gain a grey hair every time I update my website and ask myself the question, “should I list the prices for my services?”Usually I choose not to out of fear that someone will come along and undercut my price while offering the same service. In fact, I don’t have my prices on my site now, and I’m thinking I probably should put them there before the week is over. Here’s why:

  1. No one else wants to put their prices. So the SEO (search engine optimization) competition is pretty low. People often search for “cost” or “price” of things. Take advantage of that and be the first to show up when someone Googles “cost of essay editing in Toronto”!
  2. Clients immediately think I’m probably too expensive. Perhaps I am, yes, but “expensive” is pretty subjective. What’s expensive to one person may be cheap to another, and I probably don’t want to be dealing with clients who find just about any price to be too expensive anyway.
  3. Most buyers are, to some extent, price driven. Think about it. One of the first things you want to know when you are looking for a product or service on a website is pricing. And frankly, if you don’t have any pricing for them to see, most of them would rather opt out and find another website than pick up the phone and call you, or spend time writing a message.

Personally for me, I feel that it drives potential clients away from my site in search of the one content writer who isn’t afraid to be straight up and say, “This is what it costs. Take it, or leave it.”

How do you normally react?

I generally click away from sites that don’t list their prices. I hate making phone calls and sending emails if I don’t have to, and it would be nice to know whether something is within my budget or not right away.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Good point. It also aids in Cost Analysis. Since your services may be only part of a given project, the analyst assembling the proposal will thank you, as well!

    Like

    1. Kim-Lee (Your Writing Lady) says:

      Whoa! I hadn’t even thought of that. Excellent point. I’ve had to do some cost analysis in class recently, and it’s not my favorite but I see how it relates. Thanks KC!

      Like

  2. Today, while I was at work, my sister stole my
    iphone and tested to see if it can survive a twenty five foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now destroyed and she
    has 83 views. I know this is totally off topic
    but I had to share it with someone!

    Like

    1. Kim-Lee (Your Writing Lady) says:

      Sorry to hear that Sarasota!

      Like

      1. Sounds to me like your sister owes you a new iphone. 😉

        Like

  3. With evidence like that, on YouTube, it could hardly be covered by warranty…

    Like

  4. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good.

    I do not know who you are but definitely you’re going to
    a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

    Like

    1. Kim-Lee (Your Writing Lady) says:

      Thank you! I appreciate that. 🙂

      Like

    2. Well, she’s already quite well-known in blogging circles, but let’s not confuse “notorious” with “famous,” eh? (>wink<) 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

